What is IELTS?

IELTS is a globally recognized test that is conducted all over the world. The test’s main objective is to measure one’s ability to communicate in English. It does this by testing all four basic linguistic skills – Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking. Meant for non-native English speakers, it is for those who wish to study or work in countries where English is the main language of communication.

This test is the first step in Student Visa application process. Given that the IELTS conforms to the highest international standards of language assessment, your IELTS score is a trusted and valid indicator of your ability to communicate in English and is recognized by universities and colleges for course admissions in United States of America, Canada, New Zealand, United Kingdom and Australia and increasingly, in Europe.

  • (IMPORTANT – IELTS is also a requirement in case you are looking to immigrate to Australia, New Zealand or Canada.

IELTS has two modules:

  1. Academic Training Modul
  2. General Training Module.

The Academic Training Module, as the name suggests, is for those applying for higher studies in universities abroad. It is also applicable for candidates who want to register with the General Medical Council or the Dental Medical council in UK.

If, however, you are looking to migrate to Canada, Australia or New Zealand, then you should opt for the General Module.
IDP India & British Council are the examining bodies while Cambridge ESOL prepares or creates the IELTS paper.

IELTS uses an internationally recognized nine-point scoring system to measure and report scores. This score is valid for 2 years. Although all candidates take the same Listening and Speaking Modules, there is a difference in the Reading and Writing Modules, depending on whether it is the Academic or the General Test.

The first three modules – Listening, Reading and Writing must be completed in one day with no break in between. The speaking module, however, may be taken 7 days before or after the other three modules.

The registration fee for IELTS test administered after 01 April 2018 is INR 12,650.

Apart from the students, people who wish to go to a foreign country for Work Visa, Immigration or on Dependent have to appear for IELTS in order to prove their proficiency in English Language.

IELTS is regarded as one of the best parameter in terms of English proficiency around the world.

Apart from being the prominent parameter, it also helps students willing to avail the Scholarships. Most of the MNCs, various foreign Government Organizations as well as the Universities and Colleges are providing some attractive Scholarship Opportunities for students who are on student visa.

Now-a-days even people looking for some good job opportunity in the MNCs and looking forward to move abroad for jobs, IELTS as a medium of English proficiency is considered while recruitment as well.

Educational Institutions also before hiring Faculty, are now asking for IELTS scores and also now a days even the existing Faculty are asked to appear for the exam.

Below are points required for taking IELTS

  1. USA, Canada, UK, Australia, New Zealand, Ireland, Singapore, Dubai, France, Germany and other English speaking countries ask for IELTS score.
  2. All the 10th and 12th Grade Students can appear this examination.
  3. 10+3 (Diploma students)
  4. 12+3 (Bachelors of Commerce, Business Administration, Computer Applications, Bachelors of Science, Business Management)
  5. 12+4(Bachelors of Engineering, Architecture, B-Tech etc.)
    All the students who have completed Masters can appear this examination. (Master’s in Business Administration, Master’s in Science, Masters of Arts, etc.)
  6. Pharmacy, Nursing, Dental, Physiotherapy, Hospitality, Aviation etc. students can also appear for the IELTS
  7. People willing to go on Work Visa, Immigration Visa or as dependent for Australia, Canada, New Zealand etc. can also appear for the same exam